Coney Island Brewing Co. Hard Root Beer

009 - Coney Island Brewing Co Hard Root Beer.JPG

Producer: Coney Island Brewing Company
Obtained At: Big Y in Avon, CT
Container: 12 ounce glass bottle
Ingredients: Ale made with natural flavors and caramel color added
ABV: 5.8%
Caffeine: No

I have always gone out of my way to search for new kinds of root beer online, but I only just recently started searching the #rootbeer hashtag on Instagram to find pictures of root beer I have never tried. I noticed a lot of people posting pictures of this one, so I decided to look it up. Since I live in Connecticut, I figured this one would be close to me (since it is from New York), but I didn’t realize how close. It is all over the Hartford area and I had my fiancée pick up a six pack at the nearest Big Y.

I like the bottle and the label here. It has an amusement park theme (surprise!) and uses phrases such as “Thrill Your Tastebuds” and “Are You Tall Enough To Ride?” The underside of the bottle cap says “ADMIT ONE”. All around, it’s a great design. The drink is very good. I actually like it more the more I drink. It’s very sweet, which is good, but I don’t think I could drink more than one bottle of this at a time. And like some of the other hard root beers, it tastes a little bit like root beer schnapps to me. Ultimately, if you’re looking for a mix of root beer and alcohol, this is a great choice.

7/10

One comment

Leave a Reply

