Art in the Age ROOT

021 - Art in the Age ROOT

Producer: Art in the Age
Obtained At: Liquor Depot of Simsbury, Connecticut
Container: 750ML bottle
ABV: 40%

When I first moved to Connecticut, I stopped at a liquor store and saw this drink. I was immediately intrigued, since it doesn’t call itself a whiskey, schnapps, or vodka. Unfortunately, I was too poor to buy it (I think it cost around $40 for a bottle). Three years later, I was finally able to buy it. It came with a pamphlet explaining that this is supposed to be what root beer was like before they took the alcohol out during prohibition or something like that. For some reason I threw the pamphlet away. I’m not sure why I did that, since I collect bottles and was planning on keeping the bottle anyway. This is what the label says:

“This rustic spirit was inspired by a complex 18th century Pennsylvania folk recipe. It is an alcohol version of what eventually evolved into Birth or Root Beer.”

So there you have it. Now for the tasting!

Not as good as I remember. Maybe I shouldn’t have had Uncle Bob’s Root Beer Flavored Whiskey right before this one (I’m reviewing them at the same time). I remember this being better. In fact, I’ve shared it with people and they thought it was good too. But it isn’t terrible; it’s just not the typical drink, being that it isn’t vodka or whiskey. If you’re looking for something different, go for this. If you’re looking for something delicious, go for Uncle Bob’s.

4/10

Leave a Reply

