Best Damn Root Beer

022 - Best Damn Root Beer

Producer: Best Damn Brewing Co., St. Louis, MO
Obtained At: Stop and Shop in Stamford, CT
Container: 12 ounce glass bottle
ABV: 5.5%

Here is another alcoholic root beer. I really like that these are catching on, but I have yet to find one that I think is truly perfect. I had never heard of this one until I saw it in a liquor store in Newington, Connecticut. I didn’t have the budget for it then, but only a week or two later I saw it at the grocery store and had to pick it up. The bottle and label is fairly basic, but I like it. The name is straightforward, but let’s see if it’s true. The taste is quite good; very sweet and definitely alcoholic. However, the taste doesn’t really set this drink apart from Not Your Father’s, Coney Island, and Sprecher. I think my two main issues with this drink (and other hard root beers) are the flavor is too sweet to drink more than one at a time and it tastes too much like root beer schnapps (I think if there was more head it would taste more like beer/soda than schnapps). Anyway, if you want to try a hard root beer, this is a good place to start.

7/10

Leave a Reply

