Hires Root Beer

024 - Hires Root Beer

Producer: Canned by an affiliate of the American Bottling Company under the authority of Dr. Pepper/Seven Up, Inc.
Obtained At: Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store
Container: 12 ounce aluminum can
Ingredients: Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, sodium benzoate, natural and artificial flavors, phosphoric acid
Calories: 170
Sugars: 45g
Caffeine: No

So I have always wanted to try this root beer but it isn’t sold in glass bottles (that I know of) so I have never gotten around to it before. But it was at Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store so I couldn’t resist. Everyone says this used to be the best root beer back in the day. According to their website, Hires Root Beer was introduced at the 1876 U.S. Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia. The can calls itself “The Original Root Beer”. The taste is actually quite good. It’s rich and full, although you can tell it uses high fructose corn syrup instead of cane sugar. The more I drink of this, the better it gets. I really wish I could get this in a glass bottle, but the hype I’ve heard about this was warranted. Definitely try it if you see it. This might be the best HFCS one I’ve ever had.

9/10

One comment

Leave a Reply

