Purple Cane Road Root Beer

027 - Purple Cane Road Root Beer

Producer: Purple Cane Road Root Beer
Obtained At: Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store
Container: 750mL glass bottle
Ingredients: Carbonated water, sugar, caramel color, gum arabic, artificial/natural flavors, phosphoric acid, sodium benzoate, vanilla.
Calories: 120 per serving
Sugars: 30g per serving
Caffeine: No

This is an interesting one. I am pretty sure I found this brewery online about four years ago when I lived in Saint Paul, MN. I thought I would never get it at that time because it was available only in Nebraska, and maybe Iowa. Since then I forgot about it and carried on. But then I went to Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store and saw this hiding in a corner (I almost left without finding it but decided to make one last sweep through a section I had skimmed). I bought it on the way to a wedding and left it in the car for a whole day. It was hot out and even though all the other bottles were fine, this one burst through the foil cap (it was the only one without a standard bottle cap). When I got out to the car in the morning I realized it was open so I decided to just drink it on the drive back to Saint Paul. It was warm, which I am sure made it taste not as good as it could have. It comes in a 750 ml bottle of root beer. The flavor is really good. It has vanilla and is a full root beer taste. It’s hard to judge the true quality of this with the warmth and the fact that it has been open for probably 16 hours. But taking that with a grain of salt I think it deserves a 7. I am more than willing to revisit this rating when/if I ever get my hands on a bottle again and I manage to not pull some amateur move like this. If you see this, buy a bottle and share it with your friends. They’ll love you forever.

7/10

One comment

Leave a Reply

