Natural Brew Draft Root Beer

051-natural-brew-draft-root-beer

Producer: Smucker Natural Foods, Inc.
Obtained At: From my mom
Container: 12 ounce glass bottle
Ingredients: Sparkling filtered water, sugar, natural flavors, bourbon vanilla extract, anise, licorice root, birch oil, wintergreen oil, caramel color, phosphoric acid
Calories: 170
Sugars: 41
Caffeine: No

On the same trip to Minnesota that led to my most recent adventure at Minnesota’s Largest Candy Store, I also got a four-pack of this root beer from my mom (thanks Mom!). I have had this root beer before, and I believe it was one of the first bottles I got for my collection. For some reason I remember it being terrible, which is why I haven’t tried it in at least four years. The label is pretty cool. It has a lot of detail and really plays up the “small batch” aspect. The taste is a lot better than I remember, which means I must have been thinking about a different root beer all these years. It’s still not that great. The flavor is definitely complex, as the label points out, but it leaves a lot to be desired and comes off as a little bland. All in all, though, this is a decent root beer that won’t result in anyone leaving disgusted. Sometimes that’s all you need.

5/10

Leave a Reply

